TARGA

OSR News: Mid-Week Update & Some Introductory Matters

Posted in OSR News by James Smith on February 5, 2010

Greetings and Salutations, to all you gamers, out there! My name is James A. Smith and I’m the new guy on the TARGA team. As your humble correspondent, I’ll be bringing you information from around the OSR, working assiduously to provide the latest news and to promote the Old School Renaissance!

Some of you may know of me from my blog, The Underdark Gazette, where, amongst other postings, I’ve been passing along information on new releases and happenings, for the past few months. I had recently been thinking about where I wanted to go, with that particular aspect of my blog, when, Chgowiz sent me an email and offered me an opportunity to work with TARGA as their news guy. Of course, I accepted and am very proud to be able to do something for TARGA and my fellow gamers!

I’ll be posting a “This Week in the OSR” series, on Saturday’s, which, will be exclusive to the TARGA blog. I’ll also be offering, as the occasion warrants, mid-week updates, covering such things as major OSR releases, time sensitive material and anything else I’m too excited about to wait until the weekend to post. I scour the net on a daily basis, but don’t hesitate to send me any news, especially if you’ve got an OSR release, whether free, or for sale. I can be reached at dmkastmaria(at)gmail(dot)com. And now, your Mid-Week Update!

 

A One-Two Punch On RPG NOW!

AEC Goblinoid Games, has released their Advanced Edition Companion – A Player and Referee Guide of Advanced Edition Options for Labyrinth Lord!

The Hardcover is available from Lulu for $32.95. The perfect bound Softcover, also from Lulu, is $22.95.

The PDF is available from RPG Now for $5.95

Lastly, a free no-art version may also be downloaded from RPG Now.

Here’s a blurb from the back cover:

“The advanced first edition game as you remember it.
Labyrinth Lord gives you the play experience of the old editions of the world’s most popular fantasy roleplaying game! The Advanced Edition Companion is a handbook of advanced player and referee options. Play the race and class possibilities from the "advanced" first edition 1978 rules. Introduce the essential first edition monsters, spells, and magic items to your Labyrinth Lord game. All of these options are fully compatible with the core Labyrinth Lord rules, so that you can continue to play race-classes right along with all of the advanced classes and races.”

Daniel Proctor has done a fantastic job, here! The game content will please anyone, who appreciates Old School games, but, trust me, you don’t want to miss out on the illustrations! Between Dan’s design work and art from Steve Zeiser, Sean Aaberg and Jeremy Pea, this is the most aesthetically pleasing OSR product I’ve seen since, well, Labyrinth Lord! Congratulations to Dan and everyone else, who helped make this possible. 78409

If you head on over to RPG NOW’s main page, and look to the right, at their Hottest Items list, you’ll see that the Advanced Edition Companion is #1! What’s #2? Why, it’s The Dungeon Alphabet! One of the most celebrated releases from the OSR, The Dungeon Alphabet is now available in PDF, for $7.99. Congratulations to Michael Curtis and Goodman Games! Now, is that a cool, one-two punch, or what?

That’s it for now. I’ll be back Saturday, with news, links and all kinds, of information, so, be sure to come back. Until then, Happy Gaming!

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] week, was the release of the Advanced Edition Companion, from Goblinoid Games. If you missed the Mid-Week Update post, you can click the link to check out the details.  As of last night,  the new addition to […]


Leave a Reply

